Databases

To access the EBSCO host databases you will need to enter the following information:

User ID: name of your school (seaquam)
Password: the city your school is in (delta)
If you have trouble accessing the databases, please speak to the teacher-librarian.
You can also access the databases from: Delta School District Library

Canadian Themed Resources 

Grade K – 12

Grade K – 12

Grade K – 12

 

EBSCOhost databases:

Click on the icon below to access the following databases and more.
 EBSCOhost logo EBSCOhost offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers such as Academic Search Premier and Canadian Reference Centre. Also includes: Dictionaries (Canadian Oxford, Marriam-WEbster), Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Image Collections, and Medical Image Collections.

All Subjects

Consumer Health Complete logo Consumer Health Complete (animations, images, articles, etc) provides reference materials such as fact sheets/pamphlets, news and magazines, drug information, images, and videos on health and medical topics.

Biology, Planning, Psychology, Science.

 Explora Canada logo Explora Canada offers a simple search interface which delivers relevant search results including articles, essays, primary source documents. 60,000 + top videos from Associated Press.

Google Classroom Integration.

All Subjects

 Literary Reference Center logo Literary Reference Center contains a collection of informational texts on numerous literary genres, themes and forms, as well as critical essays on specific works and authors.  Also contains: research guides, a citation tool and literary glossary.

English

 NoveList Plus logo NoveList Plus provides reading lists, recommended books, book reviews, and information on book titles.

 

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center logo Poetry & Short Story Reference Center contains a comprehensive collection of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays.

English

GALE databases

 Image result for gale virtual reference library Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains a collection of online reference books.
Titles include: Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, Grzimek’s Animal Encyclopedia, Ancient Civilizations Reference Library, Industrial Revolution Reference Library, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Governments of the World, Major 21st Century Writers,Nutrition and Well Being A – Z,  Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances, Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Canadian Provinces,Alternative Energy.Google Classroom Integration.General Reference for ALL subjects.
Username: 37sess |  Password: delta
  Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Through a single search, results integrates news (newspaper, magazines), global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics.Google Classroom IntegrationCivics, English, Law, Social Justice, Social Studies.Username: 37sess  |  Password: delta
 scienceincontext.png Science in Context contains engaging online resources on a broad range of scientific topics by integrating reference content with headlines and videos.

Google Classroom Integration

Science, Psychology

Username: 37sess  | Password: delta

 

 canadaincontext.png Canada in Context provides Canadian context and perspectives on country-specific issues (including First Nations Government of Canada, Canadian Literature, and Gun Control/Gun Registry) and biographies of Canadian figures.

Google Classroom Integration

All Subjects

Username: 37sess  | Password: delta

 

Points to the Past

Points to the Past Databases List

Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, portraits, sermons, poems, and more.

Career

myblueprint.png  myBlueprint Canada Post Secondary and Occupations (Gr. 10 – 12)

 

Free Scholarly Resources

The Digital Public Library offers online access to 17 million items from libraries, archives, and museums.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) searches more than 7,000 open-access journals, which are searchable at the article level.

HighWire Press boasts that it provides “the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth!” Look for journals marked “free site.”

JSTOR has a number of open-access books (3 free articles per month)

The Science Direct site has 250,000 open-access articles.

For research in science classes try Wiley free and open-access journals.

Advertisements